

Tri-Campus Review Administrative Structure Working Group

Terms of Reference

Context

The University of Toronto has a unique tri-campus structure, bound together by a shared identity and a set of genuinely tri- or bi- campus graduate programs and departments. It is the product of a 50-year evolution, with the Mississauga and Scarborough campuses transforming themselves from small undergraduate colleges, to mid-size educational entities hosting a wide range of graduate and undergraduate offerings, and strong programs of research.

<u>Towards 2030</u> stated the University's long-term intent to create a regional 'University of Toronto system', characterized by three campuses with increasingly strong individual campus identities. In light of this, the University has launched a review of the relationships among its three campuses, under the theme identified in Towards 2030, "One University, Three Campuses."

Review Structure

The tri-campus review will be guided by a steering committee and will be built on five pillars, each with its own working group. Each working group will have tri-campus representation, will develop principles to guide future decision-making and will propose changes to policy and procedure as appropriate.

The five pillars are:

- 1. Academic Planning and Academic Change
- 2. Graduate Units
- 3. Student Services
- 4. Administrative Structure
- 5. Budget Relationships

Timeline

The Administrative Structure Working Group is expected to have completed its work by the end of 2018.



Scope of Mandate

The Administrative Structure Working Group will support the objectives of the Tri-Campus Review by considering questions related to tri-campus reporting lines and leadership, including:

- 1) Relationships among the Principals, Deans, President, and Provost as reflected in University policies and practices
 - Adjustments to administrative structures that would be required if more than one Faculty were to exist at UTM and UTSC
- 2) Differentiation of the roles of Principal and Dean at UTM and UTSC
 - Comparing the roles and responsibilities of the Principal and Dean at UTM and UTSC as outlined in University policies and practices
 - Evaluating whether those roles and responsibilities require change and, if so, in what ways
- 3) Assessing areas of University activity and identifying which administrator is best placed to lead or oversee such areas, for example:
 - The role of the "division head" for purposes of the *Code of Student Conduct* and *Code of Behaviour on Academic Matters*
 - Internationally focused staff and academic administrators
 - Information security
- 4) The reporting lines of administrative leaders at UTM and UTSC with regard to the campuses' Deans and Principals and in relation to U of T administration, such as:
 - Vice-Principals Research
 - Chief Librarians
 - Registrars
 - Chief Administrative Officers
 - Deans of Student Affairs
- 5) Consideration of the principle of symmetry with regard to responsibilities among senior leadership roles at UTM and UTSC
 - Where symmetry is not necessary, an articulation of rationales for such distinctions